Spices were an exclusive commodity at the time. Hi Suzie - Wow, that would be great if you link it. Shining Irish Eyes from Upstate, New York on January 17, 2013: I am an avid cook and baker so I can not begin to tell you how thankful I am for providing me with this highly helpful and creative alternative! What a great list! Here are 18 flavorful salt substitutes. Tirralan Watkins from Los Angeles, CA on March 20, 2013: Wow, great information here. Claudia Mitchell (author) on January 20, 2013: Many thanks teaches! Required fields are marked *. very interesting to see the suggestions in the table for the various spice mixes. Not to mention all the other great tricks you explained. But when you mix them up, you’ll obtain the strong aroma of thyme, as well as its texture. If you need more of a particular seasoning mix, adjust the recipe accordingly. Deborah Neyens from Iowa on March 02, 2014: This is a great resource! Claudia Mitchell (author) on January 26, 2013: I appreciate it pstraubie. We are watching our salt so it's nice to have alternatives. You can use a spice mill or coffee grinder to mix two teaspoons of dried thyme, two teaspoons of dried savory, one teaspoon of dried marjoram, one teaspoon of dried lavender, half a teaspoon of dried rosemary, half a teaspoon of fennel seeds, and one crushed bay leaf. Brenda Kyle from Blue Springs, Missouri, USA on January 19, 2013: Great help in the kitchen! GH Price from North Florida on January 16, 2013: This is a great guide, thank you so much for sharing! Basil: oregano or thyme Bay leaf:For 1 bay leaf, substitute 1/4 teaspoon crushed bay leaf or 1/4 teaspoon thyme Chervil: tarragon or parsley Chives:green onion, onion, or leek Cilantro:parsley Dill … In addition, it contains rosemary and … Stored in an airtight container in a cool dark place, these dried mixes should last for a few months. But Curry is distinct and easy to identify in itself. You can also use parsley only, but just as a final garnish. For a delicious